2nd Biennial Conference - Edinburgh

Event Date: 
06 Jul 2006 to 08 Jul 2006

University of Edinburgh

18th-century map of Edinburgh
G. Braun and F. Hogenberg, Edenburgum, Scotiae Metropolis (1582).
Reproduced by permission of the Trustees of the National Library of Scotland.

 

PLENARY SPEAKERS: 

Judith Bryce (Bristol)
John Monfasani (Albany/Renaissance Society of America)
William H. Sherman (Centre for Renaissance and Early Modern Studies, York)

The Society has a limited number of bursaries for postgraduate students who would like to attend the conference. Please contact the SRS Conference Coordinator, Dr Stephen Bowd for details

PLENARY EVENT: 

Reception at the National Gallery of Scotland

CALL FOR PAPERS

Building on the success of the first SRS National Conference in Bristol in 2003 this event will once again provide an occasion for Renaissance scholars to meet and present their research. Offers of papers are welcomed from any disciplinary area, either on one of the following broad themes, or on any Renaissance topic. Proposals, abstracts (maximum 300 words), and single page CVs should be submitted by 31 January 2006 to the relevant organiser as set out below. The use of email is encouraged. Papers should be of 20-25 minutes duration.

Objects

Dr Patricia Allerston
National Galleries of Scotland
Edinburgh
E-mail: pallerston@nationalgalleries.org

Fragments

Dr David Rundle 
Corpus Christi College
University of Oxford 
Oxford, OX1 4JF 
E-mail: david.rundle@history.oxford.ac.uk

Dr Paul Davies
Dept of Art and Architecture
University of Reading
Whiteknoghts, Reading RG6 6AH.
E-mail: j.p.davies@reading.ac.uk

Privilege/Honour

Dr John Law 
Department of History 
University of Swansea 
Singleton Park 
Swansea SA2 8PP
E-mail: j.e.law@swansea.ac.uk

Dr Bridget Heal 
School of History 
University of St Andrews
E-mail: bmh6@St-Andrews.ac.uk

State of Renaissance Studies in Britain

Prof. Brian Vickers 
7 Abbot's Place
London NW6 4NP
E-mail: VickersBW@aol.com

Dr Stella Fletcher 
32 Highfield Avenue 
Great Sankey 
Warrington, WA5 2TW
E-mail: stella@ravenna123.freeserve.co.uk

Papers on other topics and general enquiries, registration, etc

Dr Stephen Bowd 
School of History and Classics
University of Edinburgh 
William Robertson Building 
50 George Square 
Edinburgh EH8 9JY
E-mail: Stephen.Bowd@ed.ac.uk